Account

Account Settings

This guide explains the information you can change in your Account Settings. You can access your account settings by clicking on your profile image in the top right corner and selecting Account Settings. You can also click the button below:

Table of Contents

Account Settings

Username

Your WordPress.com username must be unique. You can change your username by typing in a new one into the username field and following the instructions that appear. Your WordPress.com username will display next to any posts you make in the WordPress.com forums.

⚠️

Once you change your username you will not be able to change it back and the old name will not be available for you or anyone to use. If you only want your name to appear differently, you can change your Public Display Name in your profile instead.

Email Address

You can change your email address. Each WordPress.com account must have a unique email address — email addresses cannot be shared among accounts. That is, one email address cannot be registered with multiple accounts. You will be sent a confirmation link to verify your email when you create a new account or change your email address.

📌

Although your email address will not be displayed publicly on WordPress.com, when you comment on any site while logged into your WordPress.com account, the e-mail address will be visible to the site’s owner/administrator.

Primary Site

Choose which site in your account you want to be your primary site. If you have more than one site in your account, the primary site is the site that is selected by default when you open WordPress.com in your browser.

If you only have one site there will be no dropdown, and that site will be set as primary automatically.

Only WordPress.com sites on which your account is a user, or self-hosted WordPress sites connected to your account via Jetpack can be set as the primary site.

Web Address

The web address is the full URL of your main website or blog. The web address will be the link used for your Public Display Name when you leave comments on WordPress.com sites or in the forums. Changing your web address will not affect the link on existing comments; it will only change the link for future comments you leave.

📌

If you make any changes to your Account Settings, be sure to click the Save account settings button at the bottom!


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Interface Settings

⚠️

During the month of March 2021, an updated sidebar and menus will be coming to all WordPress.com accounts. This update will unify various parts of WordPress.com allowing you to more easily navigate and get everything you need from the left sidebar and updated menus. Advanced admin features are in your account settings.

Interface Language

Set the primary language of your WordPress.com administrative screens. This is the language you will see as you use WordPress.com. It does not change the language that others see when they access your WordPress.com site. To set the language of your actual site, go to your site’s General Settings.

In-page Translator

Turning this option on will enable an in-page translation tool where available. It can be used to help translate the WordPress.com interface.

Dashboard Appearance

You can enable this option to show advanced dashboard pages. Sites on the Business and eCommerce plans with plugins installed will automatically default to the WP Admin equivalent screens for Pages and Posts. For all other sites and screens, enabling this will replace your dashboard screens with more advanced WP Admin equivalents when possible.

To learn more about the new navigation experience, read the announcement.

Any bookmarks that you have saved into WP Admin will continue to work with the updated navigation interface.

Here is an example of what the Posts section would look like with and without this setting:

Dashboard Color Scheme

You can change the color scheme on your dashboard to one that feels more comfortable to you. Don’t forget to save the changes before leaving the page.

📌

If you make any changes to your Interface Settings, be sure to click the Save interface settings button at the bottom!


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Close Your Account

This will let you close your account permanently. For more details, please visit this page.

The 'close your account permanently' option.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help