Writing & Editing

Trash

When you delete a post, page, or comment from your site, it will be moved to the Trashed folder. You have separate trash folders for posts, pages, and comments. This feature makes it extremely difficult to accidentally delete a post or page from your WordPress.com site.

Items within your trash folders can be restored or permanently deleted within 30 days of their original trashing.

Moving a Post or Page to Trashed

You can move a post or page to Trashed directly from My Site → Posts or My Site → Pages. To delete the post or page, you need to click the three dots to reveal the Trash option:

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Moving a Comment to Trash

You can move any comment to your Trash from My Site → Comments. Locate the comment you want to delete and click on the Trash icon:

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Permanently Deleting an Upload

You can permanently delete any upload from your Media Library. To do so, select the file(s) of your choice and click the Trash icon in the toolbar:

Note that unlike posts, pages, and comments, deletions from your media library are permanent and will not be moved to a trash folder.

To delete files from your Media Library within the WP Admin dashboard, you can follow steps outlined in this document.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Accessing your Trash

Posts, pages, and comments each have their own trash folders. This is where they are located:

  • Posts: My Site → Posts Trashed
  • Pages: My Site → Pages Trashed
  • Comments: My Site → Comments Trash

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Restoring from Trash

Enter the Trash folder of your posts, pages, or comments. Click on the three dots to reveal the menu. You will see an option to Restore the item:

The item should then be removed from the Trash, and you will receive a message that the restoration was successful, “Post successfully restored.”

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Permanently Deleting a Post or Page

To permanently delete a post or page, enter your Trashed folder and click on the three dots. You will see the option to Delete Permanently. You will be asked for confirmation that you want to delete the item.

Important: Once you choose to permanently delete an item, there is no way to recover or restore it!

If you need to recover an item that has been deleted (by another user, after the 30 days), you can try the steps outlined in this document.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Trash Collection

Please be aware that files in the trash are automatically deleted after 30 days.

Still confused?

Contact support.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help