Scale images under Structure theme

• Hi,

I’m in the process of setting up a new blog at http://www.watchpossible.com which is very much “work in progress”. I liked the Featured Article functionality of the Structure theme as I thought it might work well for my content, but have been looking to customise the theme via CSS given I find the original layout a little “chunky”. That being said, I am a CSS newbie :)

I’m getting the overall structure towards the slimmed down look that I want (moving to 800 pixels wide versus original 960 pixels), but have run into a few snags with respect to scaling of images that I want to both resolve and understand before I progress further.

The main issue is the Feature Article image stretches to 620×380 regardless of actual image size and CSS which I have set to 500×306. I think the relevant CSS code is as follows

#homepagetop .featuredimage {
    	float: left;
    	display: block;
    	background: #f5f5f5;
    	width: 500px; /*** was 620px ***/
    	height: 306px; /*** was 380px ***/
    	margin: 0px 20px 0px 0px; /*** was 30px ***/
    	padding: 0px;
    	overflow: hidden;
    	}

I can work around this by padding my feature images out to 620×380, but would prefer to fix the issue properly.

I also have a similar problem where the header image is required to be 960×120. I can of course work around that too, but I suspect insight into the above well help me solve that too.

Thanks in advance for any help.

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• Regarding the scaling of images, since that’s more of a “core” thing, you can set the image size through Settings > Media. There you can set the “large size” image dimensions to a maximum width and height (in your case 500px width)… that should resize your images to your specified dimensions.

HTH.

• Thanks, I took a look at that and tried it but it hasn’t solved the issue.