Options for monetizing a wordpress.com blog

• My blog (http://www.bookbook.com.au) is moderately popular. I’m thinking of taking it a bit more seriously and I’d like to see if I can monetise it. I’m not looking to make lots of money I’m just curious to see what it can make.

WordPress.com doesn’t currently allow adsense so I think my options are:

1. Host my own wordpress blog. I did this before and I had lots of problems. I’m also not sure that my adsense revenue would cover the cost of the hosting.

2. Move my blog to a hosted blog platform that allows ads like Blogger. There’s no simple way to do this unfortunately.

Does anyone know of any other options

• How many hits are you getting? I wouldn’t even think of depending on Adsense if I were getting less than a thousand hits a day. And if I were, I wouldn’t get Adsense. I’d work with an ad network and get ads that paid better. I make my living from ads on blogs, and Adsense’s sole advantage is that it’s a no-brainer. Brainers make more money.

There are no options other than those you mentioned if what you want to do is sell advertising. There are other ways to use a WP.com blog to generate revenue, as can be seen in the FAQ thread called “Types of blogs.” I use one of my WP.com blogs to let people know about classes I hold, authors sell books over theirs, and I know at least one visual and one craft artist who sell their art via the blogs.

• To be honest I’m just curious more than anything. I’m a long way off 1000 hits a day but I’ve never tried to publicise my blog. I was thinking of taking it a bit more seriously and seeing what I could do. I might just do it without the ads.

• I’m at about 1500 hits a day on average and there may be some potential advertisers. Can I post ads and links in exchange for payment on my WP.com blog?

• No. It is against the Terms of Service and while there’s talk about an upgrade at some point, I’ve been told there is nothing in the pipeline for the forseeable future.

• RC,