Blocks

Converting From the Classic to the Block Editor

When you are transitioning over to using the block editor, this guide can help you keep the editing process smooth.

Introduction

When converting your content, it’s useful to consider whether you’re converting the content on a site on the Business or eCommerce plans which has plugins, or a site that’s free, on the Premium, or Personal plans, and which has no plugins.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Free, Personal, or Premium site (no plugins)

Open a post or page to edit it, by going to My Site → Posts (or My Site → Pages).

Convert Classic Content to Blocks

When your post opens in the block editor, the content is automatically displayed in a Classic block:

Screenshot: a post that was created in the classic editor is open in the block editor. The image shows the Classic Block containing the post content. Also highlighted are the Block Settings, located in the Settings panel on the right hand side of the block editor.
Click on the image to see a larger version

You can leave everything inside the Classic block and continue editing, or you can easily convert everything inside the Classic block into regular blocks.

In order to then transform the Classic block to individual paragraph and image blocks, click the Convert to blocks option that appears in the block toolbar.

Classic block - Convert to Blocks button
Classic block – Convert to blocks button

The conversion process is quite quick.

You may find that you need to re-align images and text following the conversion. For more information about this, please view the alignment section of the Image Block guide.

Don’t forget to Update the changes to your post or page, once the conversion is complete.

Should you wish to convert another page or post to blocks, just open it up to edit it. It will automatically open in the block editor, and you can convert it directly.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Business or eCommerce site (with plugins)

If you’ve been using the classic editor on your Business or eCommerce site, it means that the Classic Editor plugin is installed and active.

Deactivate the Classic Editor

In order to start changing from the classic editor to the block editor, first deactivate the Classic Editor plugin.

To do this, go to My Site → Plugins. This will open the plugin management. In the left-hand menu, select ‘Installed Plugins’, below Manage Plugins:

This opens a list of the plugins installed on your site, in alphabetical order. Underneath the Classic Editor plugin in the list, click the deactivate link in order to deactivate the plugin:

Screenshot: indicating the 'Deactivate' link displayed just below the Classic Editor plugin in your list of installed plugins.

After deactivating this plugin, go to My Site → Posts (or My Site → Pages) and open a post or page you wish to convert to block content.

Convert Classic Content to Blocks

When the post begins to load in the block editor, you will be presented with a pop-up which offers to automatically convert your content to blocks. The pop-up has two buttons: a blue ‘Convert to Blocks’ button on the left, and a ‘Cancel’ button on the right.

Click the blue ‘Convert to Blocks’ button to automatically switch the post content to blocks:

Screenshot: A pop-up with the text "Ready to try blocks? This post contains content you created using the older editor. For the best editing experience we recommend converting this content to blocks." Below this text are two buttons. The left button is 'Convert to blocks' and the right button is 'Cancel'.

You may find that you need to re-align images and text following the conversion. For more information about this, please view the alignment section of the Image Block document.

If you choose the Cancel button in the pop-up, you can still convert your content to blocks.

When your post opens in the block editor, the content is automatically displayed in a Classic block:

Screenshot: a post that was created in the classic editor is open in the block editor. The image shows the Classic Block containing the post content. Also highlighted are the Block Settings, located in the Settings panel on the right hand side of the block editor.
Click on the image to see a larger version

In order to then transform the Classic block to individual paragraph and image blocks, click the Convert to blocks option that appears in the toolbar.

Classic block - Convert to blocks button
Classic block – Convert to blocks button

The conversion process is quite quick. Don’t forget to Update the changes to your post or page once the conversion is complete.

Should you wish to convert another page or post to blocks, just open it up to edit it. It will automatically open in the block editor, and you can convert it directly.

There are more tips on how customize posts and pages using Blocks in this video:

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help