wordpress.com newbie needs help adding quicktime and more

• Hi,

I’m new to wordpress.com and am having trouble making a post to my blog that contains a 700k quicktime movie. I read that the embed tag isn’t supported and I’m wondering how I can post my VR and have it viewable or at least downloadable. It’s posted as “The New Studio” at http://www.lindenphoto.wordpress.com. Any workarounds are welcome :).

Also are there file size limits to posts or number of posts? I want to post small videos sometimes and photos regularly to show what my photography studio does.

TIA,
    Bryan

• Embedding media is not allowed, I’m afraid. And for photos, we are alloted a total of 25MBs. You’re better hosting the photos somewhere else. And about your videos, you’d have to find somewhere that would host them and link to them to your blog, that way, visitors can download them.

• Hate to disagree but…

Yes, you are allowed to have up to 25 megs of photos hosted with your blog. For 99% of the bloggers out there, that’s plenty of space unless you’re doing multiple pictures for each post with each picture over 100kb in size. You can review a FAQ on uploading pictures here if you need help. I have a webcomic updated twice daily here with two different pics a day, each one about 50kb in size and its loaded until some time in September. I’m no where near 25megs in usage.

The Quick Time video is different though. As per the FAQ, we are not allowed the use of embed tags here on WordPress.com. We are allowed to use videos hosted at Google and YouTube though and this might work for you. There are links to instructions for using those methods in the FAQ as well.

Hope this helps,
    -drmike

• Thank you both for your replies. It sounds like I may need to host myself as I plan on adding photos almost daily and don’t want to worry about limits but will look into google and youtub until I can host myself.