Using CSS to put buttons across page top (not sidebar) in Sapphire

• I am semi-HTML/CSS literate, and am ready to bang my head against the wall about this. I know it’s simple, and I can do it on pages I have built from ground up…BUT…here I am!

I know just enough to be dangerous, and hope I am giving enough detail. (If not just yell at me, it’s the only way to learn). I am VERY new to the widget idea and haven’t quite grasped how to use them the way I want to. Any help is VERY appreciated!

What I want to do is have page buttons horizontally across the top of my page, under the header, that are there on every page visited. Currently there are only 3 public pages, and I am using the widget that has them appearing in the sidebar. I will probably be adding 2-3 more when time permits.

I guess my question has two parts –

1. Is there a way to use CSS and the pages widget to display horizontally like I described? I am not worried about how the buttons look at this point (very basic now), because I can learn how to change them to look better. This way seems easier than option 2 for in the future, but option 2 would look sharper and would “match” better.

–Option #2

2. Would it be better for me to build some buttons in Photoshop and then put an <a href code around the image –and if so, how and where would I stick them in the CSS to do what I want to do?

I hope that makes sense, and I am sure this is something relatively simple…but I am going nuts because of it. As of now I have chunked everything but the (current) button borders and am starting over with advice…like I should have done in the first place.

Thanks in advance for any help, and please let me know if I have missed anything you’d need to be able to help.

• Oh, boy, the entire post links to the blog…so click anywhere I guess….:)