Unable to edit Success Message for my Subscribe Block

• Hi there,

I have a Subscribe Block in my Sidebar. At the time I added it I was able to edit the Success Message.

Now later on, I would like to edit it again. But try as I might, I cannot find where to do this. The way it appears in the Subscribe Block support page https://wordpress.com/support/wordpress-editor/blocks/subscribe-block/https://wordpress.com/support/wordpress-editor/blocks/subscribe-block/ is not how it is appearing for me.

Can someone please help me? I am using an old theme, could the issue be related to that?

Thanks so much,
    Dave

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• Hi @daveunderwood1, I did some digging and found the success message setting was recently removed on some sites because of differences in the way some of our hosting environments handle form submissions. The support document you shared will be updated shortly.

In the meantime, sites that allow plugins (Business and Pro, or self-managed sites with other hosts) won’t be affected by this issue.

I hope this helps!

• Hi @supernovia,

Thank you for getting back to me.

I can understand why this is happening now. I am on the Personal plan.

I just have one more question:

What am I supposed to do now with the custom success message that is set for my Subscribe Block? I need to change it.

(One option I am considering is removing the block and adding it again as I think the default messages will be better than the custom messages I’ve currently got set up.)

Thanks so much,
    Dave

• Hi there,

As @supernovia explained, the option to customize that message has been removed, so it’s not possible to change it anymore.

Re-adding the block as you suggested will do the trick.

• Ok thank you very much

• Hi there,

Can I please ask a follow-up question?