private messaging

• As a newbie I have no idea if what I’m about to ask is out to lunch or not. I just left a comment on a blog without understanding that it would be publicly viewable prior to it’s owner’s choice to make my comment public or not. And as I have not had anyone comment on my blog as yet I have no experience to rely upon. Is it possible for wp admin to set up private messaging between us wp.com bloggers? If so please put this on the “wish list”. And if it isn’t possible please forgive me for sounding like a twerp. Thanks.

• Any blog with Moderation turned off will post ALL comments immediately to the site. Turning Moderation on means that all comments must be approved prior to posting. For my blog, I prefer to foster the feeling of immediate feedback as if it were more of an open forum than a personal soapbox. Still, I agree that there really needs to be some form of private messaging even if it’s just a checkbox option on the comments forms that allows users to mark a message as private.

• I like the checkbox idea. Should we post this thread as an “ideas” item for WP admin to put on the wish list? What do others think?

• Someone beat me to it…

• I rather have javascript allowed than most of the ideas that people come up with. It’s all great ideas but how about a text widget for javascript ads? ** wink, wink ** lol I rather see them work on trying to figure out how to still have security with javascript allowed.