meta tags, Google and “I did a search”

• I am a newbie, and I have done a search, since that appears to be a prerequisite for getting an answer. While posters keep saying that meta tags are not relevant, Google requires the addition of a meta tag for verification of your site address. The standard response is something like “WP doesn’t do meta tags”, “you don’t need them”, or “it can’t be done”. That may be so, but why is it impossible to add them to the home page if Google requests it for faster Google caching? Some posts have suggested adding a page titled with the meta tag that Google provides; I did that, and the page shows up as a page with no title and is not verified by Google. The same thread suggested making a post titled with the meta tag. Tried that too, and it doesn’t show up.

I’m sure you recognize that newbies are anxiously trying to do the right thing, and at the same time want to make sure they are quickly accessible to others, as opposed to waiting six weeks. I have only been waiting three or four days, but want to make sure I carry out all the steps necessary to enable quick access by Google. So how about a more completely written response to this question than “we don’t do it” or “you don’t need it”. Thanks.

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• anxiously trying to do the right thing, and at the same time want to make sure they are quickly accessible to others
    How about linking your name to your blog:
    How to make your name link to your blog:
    Go into your dashboard -> users -> your profile -> then scroll down to ‘contact info’. In the spot where it says ‘website’ fill in the address of your blog and save the changes.
    Now… when you comment here and on other blogs, your name will link to your blog. If you do this before you post your request for help, it will allow forum volunteers to be able to help you quicker since they won’t have to ask you for a link and wait until you come back to post one.