insert code into sidebar

• I am new to both computers and to blogging. I wanted to join the Blogging Alliance of Non Partisan Canadians and they accepted me. I sucessfully made a posting on my blog and also sucessfully put them in my bookmarks on my sidebar. Now they require that I copy some script (or is it called code?) into my sidebar. I think the result may be a button but I’m not sure. I have read the documentation over and over and have tried reading similar entries on the forum but suffice to say I am too dense to understand how to do this. I tried and tried to put it into a text widget several times and failed miserably. Will you help me please? I need the kind of step by step instructions one would give to a not very bright child who is just learning to speak English computerease as a second lanuaguage. The code I must insert is:

<h3>Blogging Alliance of Non Partisan Canadians</h3>

• You cannot put any script on your WordPress blog. If they will not provide a non-script code snippet for you, you will be unable to add your blog to their alliance.

• Thank you for your response andy. Although I do not understand why I cannot insert html code when other blogging sites do allow it and I feel like a football being passed back and forth I have asked for a snippet as you suggested. Is there a way to explain this to a newbie like me. If so I would strive to understand.

• Most HTML code is allowed. Scripts are not allowed because they can be used maliciously against the site and users. For the protection of everyone, scripts are removed from all user input.

Any service that provides scripts for site verification or membership should be capable of providing script-free HTML for the same purpose.

• You can try with a text widget, try in the sidebar stuff. I made myself with a link to another site and I wrote there the code. Sometimes it works and sometimes not.

• Examples of script attacks. Matt posted a few links as well but I can’t find that post.