Big Brother Header

• Hi there, I am completely new to CSS so I have no idea what I’m doing. Is it possible to make my header image larger (the theme setting is far too small) AND not have the main menu in the middle of it?

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• Hi there,

I see you’ve already added a height parameter to your header, so I assume you’ve got it to the size you want. To move your menu down, give this a try:

@media screen and (min-width: 900px) {
    .main-navigation.has-header {
    	position: absolute;
    	top: 500px;
    }

.primary {
    	margin-top: 50px;
    }

.secondary {
    	margin-top: 50px;
    }
    }

This fixes your menu at the bottom of your current header image, and it bumps your main and sidebar content areas down a bit so the menu doesn’t overlap the tops of them. If you change your header size, you’ll need to adjust the top: 500px; value as well.

Also, the media query bit specifies that this change should only be made in screen sizes 900px or wider. This is because doing that to the menu makes it look all funky in small screens, so for mobile, I left it as it was.

What do you think?

Also, we’ve got a great series on the Daily Post teaching our users basic CSS. You should check these out! They’re a big help with learning:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/css-intro/
    https://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/25/css-selectors/

Intro to CSS: Previewing Changes with the Matched Rule Pane

• Ah! Yes that’s much better — only now my header is cut off on the right side (actually it was always like that).

• I’d actually kind of prefer the whole header to be a bit smaller, but I just can’t figure out how to do that.

• Ah. Change that #masthead height in your CSS to 479px and then change the top value in the CSS I gave you to from 500 to 479px as well — does that make everything show up properly?