Adding sidebar to Ambiru theme

• Hi,

Would anyone be able to tell me if there is any way in which a sidebar can be added to the Ambiru theme? Currently it’s just one column wide, with the sidebar at the bottom. And if this isn’t possible, is there a way to add features to the sides? i.e. menus/calendars?

I’m pretty new to the whole blogging/css thing, but am slowly getting my head around it – any help would be very much appreciated.

Thank you

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• Actually the way Ambiru markup is done, it is quite easy. Since the site linked to your username has been deleted, I will need a link to the site you are talking about before I can help you with the code.

• Thanks for the swift response!

Do you mean the link to our blog site? (sorry, as I said, I’m very new to this!) – It’s http://thecustardapples.wordpress.com

• Yup, that is what I needed. The following will give you what you want. You will have to fix your header image and make it 740px wide x 225px, upload it to the media library on your site, get the URL of that image and then insert it into the #header section. Once you increase the width or height of the header you can no longer use header uploader at appearance > header since it will always want to crop to the original size.

#wrap {
    width: 740px;
    }

#nav {
    width: 730px;
    }

#header {
    background: url("URL of new 740 x 225 header") no-repeat scroll 0 0 transparent;
    }

.navigation {
    padding-bottom: 2.5em;
    }

I’ve increased the padding bottom in .navigation (the next and previous links at the bottom) so it doesn’t sit right on top of the header.

• Oops, forgot to copy in a couple.

#sidebar {
    width 200px;
    }

#sidebar .sec-a {
    width: 180px;
    }
  • Done – thank you! I guess our next step is to try and figure out how we can actually add things TO the sidebar – all in good time!