WP.com vs. WP.org

• Ok, I am looking for some opinions here so that I can get a better grasp on which site is really the better choice. I am fairly new to formal blogging (however I have been writing on line for years now) and I am finding that I am getting a bit frustrated with the limitations I find here at WP.com, so I did some research into WP.org and now I am in a quandry as to which site is actually more functional when you want the ability to be creative with your blog? So I am asking you all for your opinions on the following questions:

1. Do you find WP.com to be functional enough for your blogging enjoyment or does WP.org offer more?
    2. Have you tried WP.org? What did you think?

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• The answers I’d give, and that you’re likely to get from others here, are:
    1. WordPress.com is functional enough. Those who don’t consider it functional enough tend not to hang out at these forums, although there are exceptions.
    2. The sticky post at the top of these forums does a really good job of explaining the .com/.org difference.

Could you be specific about which limitations of .com bug you, and about the ways in which you want to “be creative with your blog”?

• Pros for WP.ORG you have the freedom to add anything to your site

Cons for WP.ORG You need to buy a domain &hosting package requires some technical knowledge.Also site maintenance falls upon you/ Forum Support not that great nor quick with replies.

Pros for WP.COM Mass community, the ease to sit back and worry about wrting content for your site. NO maintenance required! Great Peer to Peer forum help with quick response time. Global Tag page.

Cons WP.COM Has Many Limitations.

I also recommend reading this article about WP.com vs WP.org from the support page. » http://en.support.wordpress.com/com-vs-org/

• @tfockler60