Spacing and summary on Truly Minimal

• I’m a CSS newbie but am quickly realising how amazing it is…Just changed to Truly Minimal and wondered if there was any way of displaying a summary of the posts, rather than the full post.

Also…I’ve adjusted some of the spacing but above my custom header there is still white space. I can’t seem to get it tighter.

My sidebar also looks to start higher than the post titles. Any way of aligning these?

Thank you so much,
    Esther

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• If you want short post summaries in your main blog page you should try using the more tag or setting excerpts as part of each post because this isn’t something that can be done with CSS.

However, try this to sort out your remaining issues:

#masthead {
      padding-top:10px;
    }

.hentry {
      padding:0 0 3em 0;
    }

h1.widget-title {
      margin-top:0;
    }
  • Woah! That is amazing – thank you so much. How did I not know about the more tag before? I cannot believe it is so easy.

The spacing has worked wonderfully. Thank you.

I just have one more question – is it possible to make my categories into the main menu at the top?

Thanks again,
    Esther

• Hi Esther,

Have a look at the custom menus feature for adding in page, category and any other type of link into your main navigation menu.

• It is done! I can’t believe it. Thank you. Is there any way of making the menu font smaller so that they all fit on one line please? Then I think I am done!

• It is done! I can’t believe it. Thank you. Is there any way of making the menu font smaller so that they all fit on one line please? Then I think I am done!

• This should work for big screens though it will collapse to two lines on smaller screens like tablets. Change the spacing and font size values if you like!

.navigation-main li {
      margin-left:8px;
      margin-right:8px;
      font-size:13px;
    }