putting a banner on the journalist. Is it OK?

• I just managed to change the generic header in the journalist with a cool banner: http://angryfrenchguy.com/

Now I’m worried that since I removed some CSS code, my blog will become invisible to search engines.

What I did was remove the original H1a thing and replace it with

#container h1 a {
    display:block;
    text-align:left;
    background:url(‘http://XXXXXXX’) top center no-repeat;
    height:147px;
    width:950px;
    text-indent:-9000px;
    }

Does any one know?

• I am not an expert but I think it should be fine since your text is still there, it’s just not on the bit of the page that normally displays on screen.

• Must have followed my earlier instructions :) No, there is no problem since the blog header is still there. I had no problem in the months that I had The Journalist on my blog. (For that matter, I’m still using that setup with my current blog.)

• Yes Vivian, I did follow your instructions.

Thanks to you both.

• Actually, I got those instructions elsewhere and modified them for The Journalist. The key is the text indent – the text is still there (so search engines can find your blog) but hidden from the blog display.

Glad it works for you!

• I’m trying to do this but I keep getting a tiny little banner. I used the size you used and I don’t get what I’m doing wrong.

• The blog linked in your user name doesn’t have the CSS upgrade so I can’t look to see what you have done.

• Oh, and you have to make sure that your image is the proper size, too.

• That link is for images in posts, not the header image. The size of the image depends on whether you have adjusted the width and height of the blog. In the code above, the header size is given:

height:147px;
    width:950px;
  • Oops my bad, dunno what I thinking (a little too pre-occupied with photographing hornbills lately). I tried the code posted above with the exact image dimension and correct url, I got a empty white space instead.