Pingback with someone elses name listed as author

• Can someone help me with this. I’m new at this and still working to get an understanding of the processes.

I’ve received two pingbacks. The first went to a unknown site talking about a loosely related site and then today I received a Pingback listed with someone elses name as the author. When I follow the links it comes back to my page. Both of these showed up in Akismet Spam site.

Are these spam and how do you keep others from using your stuff with their name?

What is the best way to handle this? Is this

Prayer is Prayer … or is it Prayer? | bible.luiscorreia.com/prayer-is-prayer-%e2%80%a6-or-is-it-prayer | IP: 72.36.250.186

[…] Morris Vig wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptA sudden need arises and we call out to God in “Prayer”. A family member is taken ill or has a bad turn of affairs and we go to God in “Prayer”. The day has gone well, the sun is shining and all seems right with the world and we lift … […]

• They are sploggers. They steal content and post it as their own.

You can’t do anything/much about it. If it is hosted on a WordPress.com domain (something.wordpress.com) then you can report it as spam. Otherwise, you can try to contact the web site’s host provider, but most of the time the hosts aren’t very responsive.

There’s a pretty good blog here at WordPress.com (I forget the name of it), that talks about sploggers and your options with dealing with them.

• Thanks jamesewelch, appreciate your thoughts. Will look for the site you mentioned.

• You can do something about it — if your post has been copied in whole or part without permission, send a DMCA copyright infringement notice as instructed here:

luiscorreia.com

• Thank you Tellyworth, appreciate the information. Will follow up on it.