New web site

• Dear Word Press,

Basically, I don’t have – and never have had – a website, but need to have one. I don’t blog – at least not yet. I hope that with your various bits of kit and the advice of more technically – and younger – members of the family I may end up with a website. I do a small amount of freelance work, ranging from voicing, to PR, to ELT Radio. At present I have no way of letting anyone know of my existence other than by phoning and emailing out to the world. Having a web site seems to me to be pretty crucial really! Years ago I acquired a domain name which I think I have now for another year or more.
    Could you now advise me on what steps I should now be taking towards the creation of a web site via Word Press?

Many thanks

John Goodman

• As a fellow freelancer, I can confirm that having a website these days is incredibly helpful. I get a lot of new client inquiries through my self-hosted WordPress website.

I recommend you start by deciding if you want to sign up for a WordPress.com hosted site or use WordPress.org to set up a self-hosted site. Here is some information about the difference: http://support.wordpress.com/com-vs-org/

In short, the WordPress.com option doesn’t allow as much free customization, but it’s much less hassle to set up and maintain. You might want to start by looking at the “Get Started” page: http://en.support.wordpress.com/get-started/

You will also have the option of upgrading to use your own domain name with a WordPress.com site: http://support.wordpress.com/domain-mapping/

There is also this helpful guide for learning the basics of using WordPress.com: http://learn.wordpress.com/

Let me know if you have any additional questions, and I’ll see if I can help answer them!