Legalities arising form links

• OK I’m new at this… so is there any legality concerns from linking, and featuring copywrited images and videos… or is this really something that wordpress doesn’t support but that is pretty much just done? I’ve visited a bunch of blogs and there can’t be any way all these blogs have the rights to the images they are using (especially the celebrity images…)

• WordPress is an American company and the American copyright laws apply regardless of where the blogger is situate. It’s my understanding that without receiving express permission in advance copyrighted items are not to be displayed on blogs here and if bloggers are caught doing so the TOS (i.e. the contract we enter into with wordpress to get a blog here) allows staff to suspend or delete the blogs in question.
    http://wordpress.com/tos/

• That’s not quite true. SNL, for instance, has uploaded videos to YouTube (whereas before they insisted people uploading their content take it down) and while they do not specifically say “post this on your blog” that is exactly what they are hoping people will do.

There is also fair use, quotations of statements made in public (even if you got them from a copyrighted piece) and many other issues.

None of us here are US lawyers. I suggest looking up the issues at the Electronic Frontier Foundation, which has been at the forefront of these issues since before there were blogs.

• Consider: would it be polite to ask the owner?; would they be offended?; and that if you offend anyone, it’s easier for them to ask you to desist before getting legalistic.

• Here is what happens.

You use a copyrighted image.
    Owner contacts us.
    You get your blog suspended immediately. No email, just suspension.
    You email Support. I tell you that your blog may be returned if you remove all copyrighted material as soon as the blog is returned.
    You agree – blog is returned and then checked.
    You try to discuss – no blog.