Is this a wiki or wordpress job?

• Hello,

I am brand new to wordpress and have a few questions before I start using wordpress

The reason why I am planning on using wordpress for my website is because there are many different kinds of templates out there to “uniquely” present my website. Another main reason is of course it’s ease of use. Because I have really no experience in running a website or coding for the matter, using wordpress would help me a great deal.

However, lately I have been introduced to wiki, which have plenty of templates and is fairly easy to use as well.

So the question here is: which one will suit what my website best?

Right now, I am on the side of wiki because my website must allow users to submit content. My website will be very simple. Its main content are simply links, so users just submit links with their own comments/descriptions. Similar to how Digg functions (note: I’m not making another Digg!)Then, these links will be indexed into the database. The interface will contain a search field, where the users can type in keywords and the website will spit the indexed links out (like any search engine).

Of course, there will be more on the website but this is the main proponent.

Do you think this is a job for wiki or wordpress? Or some other easy to use device?
    Will learning how to do all these take more than 2 months? If so maybe I should hire someone to do this…

Thank you for any comments/suggestions.

-QuickSilver1024

• How many users are you expecting? To me that seems to be key. You can register more than one person to post on your blog, but not many, and I believe each of them would have all kinds of admin privileges you wouldn’t want them to have.

Offhand, I’d say you’re probably looking at a wiki. Check out http://wikispaces.org for comparison. It shouldn’t take you nearly that long to get started with either, though. Maybe 2 weeks to get competently functional, no way 2 months.

• Hi raincoaster.