Dyad 2 – Formatting header menu text

• Hello,

Hopefully this is an easier one for you CSS gurus! I would like to format the Header Menu text of my website (change font, color, font size, turn off text-transform, etc.).

I’ve been able to change the font and font size by using the following example code:

.primary-menu {
    font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size: 20px;
    }

However, I can’t seem to change the color or turn off the “text-transform” feature that renders the text in all-caps, even when using the !important tag. (I am very new at CSS, so this could easily be user coding error!) Could someone help me figure out how to do that?

Also: Are there any other ways to format the menu text that I haven’t mentioned above? (E.g. is it possible to alter kerning via CSS?)

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• Hi waltwould,

To turn off text-transform for the primary menu, you could try:

#site-navigation #primary-menu li {
    text-transform: none;
    }

To change the colour of the site navigation:

#site-navigation #primary-menu li a {
    color: #0000ff; //this is the hex code for blue as an example
    }

I believe the reason your CSS for text-transform wasn’t working was due to specificity (the CSS to change the text-transform was at the ‘li’ list tag level). At this level, you can change letter-spacing, padding, margin, font-size and much more. You could even set the background-color for each menu item, or add a border to each item. From what I understand, font kerning relates more to the spaces between letters (so perhaps letter-spacing may be more useful here). There is a font-kerning property in CSS3, though it appears it isn’t supported by all browsers.

I hope this helps?

• Hey waltwould,

I don’t see any underline in main menu of the website you have listed here.