Change max width to 980

• I had started a thread on here earlier but I’m having more trouble than I thought I would. I tried to pick a pretty minimal theme as I’ve never worked with CSS before but perhaps I should have chosen differently? My blog address is

http://lookingGphotography.wordpress.com

What I am wanting is for the max width of the page to be 980 so that when I upload my pictures I can show them at the full 720px that is best for on-screen viewing. The original Manifest (the theme I am using) max width is 500. I tried going in and actually editing the CSS itself and copying and pasting that into the box and that *seemed* to work, but when I actually viewed the site view the internet (and not the preview), it had changed allignments, colors, etc. so I had obviously messed something up?

Is there a command I could write in so that the width of the pax would change from 500 to 980 and also so that the max width of images could be 980 instead of 500?? THANK YOU TO ALL OF YOU WHO CHECK THESE THREADS TO HELP US NEWBS!!

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• Pasting the entire stylesheet can cause things like this, and what is best here at wordpress.com is to paste the stylesheet into a plain text file for reference and then add only the specific selectors and specific declarations that you need to the edit window.

First let’s get you returned to the standard CSS and then we will get it widened for you. Go to the CSS page, delete all the CSS you put into the edit window, make sure “add to existing…” is selected and then click save stylesheet. Check your site and everything should be back to normal (force refresh the page if necessary).

• Actually, if you want to try this first.

Go to the css edit page and in the box down below the CSS area is a field for setting the maximum width for images and videos. Set that to 720px and click save stylesheet.