Tags » Literary Fiction

"The Self-Made World" (ca. early 2010)

The nurses and stenographers waited in their white rubber coats, steam rising up from under their facemasks and fogging their spectacles. With Origen’s pause, an anxious sigh, sharp and perturbed, escaped from all of the room’s inhabitants. 3,771 more words

Fiction

(Re)Reading atm Joseph McElroy's Cannonball

This is one of my favourites from McElroy’s oeuvre. Essentially the “story” focuses on Zach, a young photographer, swimmer, former diver, incestuous lover to his sister, just as he’s on the cusp of leaving school and joining the military to become a photographer for them. 232 more words

25,000 words...

“When I write a novel I’m writing about my own life; I’m writing a biography almost, always. And to make it look like a novel I either have a murder or a death at the end”

236 more words
Writing

We are All Completely Beside Ourselves Review

Hello!

Sorry for missing last post. Last week of work before vacations so everything was more stressful. But today i have a review! My TBR is going smaller but then i buy some books and everything is the same :D, book problems. 644 more words

English

Review: Among The Ten Thousand Things by Julia Pierpont

Among The Ten Thousand Things

Julia Pierpont

336 Pages

Release Date: 07/07/2015

PUBLISHER: RANDOM HOUSEGENRE: LITERARY FICTION

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, … 699 more words

2015

To Undying Love, This I Vow

I want not to leave nor live without thou;
the days do come to I very undone.
Love is thou rose: painful yet it so beau. 113 more words

Featured

Ransom, by David Malouf

David Malouf is one of Australia’s most accomplished writers. This is his 2009 rendering of sections of Homer’s Iliad– roughly, a much abbreviated version of books 16 to 23. 957 more words

Reviews