Tags » Internet

Samsung opens new plant to meet Galaxy S6 edge demand

Apparently there can be too much of a good thing, and in Samsung's case the unanticipated high demand for the Galaxy S6 edge lead to shortages in the smartphone's supply. 152 more words

Internet

M 4.6 - 23km SSW of Kodari, Nepal

DYFI? – I

Time 2015-04-25 13:36:14 UTC 2015-04-25 19:21:14 +05:45 at epicenter Location 27.748°N 85.890°E Depth 10.00 km (6.21 mi)

from USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour… 7 more words

Internet

M 4.6 - 51km NNW of Kathmandu, Nepal

DYFI? – IV

Time 2015-04-25 13:30:28 UTC 2015-04-25 19:15:28 +05:45 at epicenter Location 28.108°N 85.073°E Depth 10.00 km (6.21 mi)

from USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour… 7 more words

Internet

鍵盤前的你聽著:羞辱的代價,遠比你以為的大

(本篇同步刊登於TEDxTaipei)

“I was seen by everyone, but actually known by few.” – Monica Lewinsky
(我,廣為人知,但鮮少人真正認識我。)

這句話深深道出讓她廣為人知卻又痛苦不堪的經歷,她是莫妮卡·李文斯基 (Monica Lewinsky),柯林頓醜聞案中的主角。十七年前的李文斯基事件從網路爆發,一段錄音讓整個世界風起雲湧,讓一個默默無名的人一夜之間成為眾人污辱的醜聞人物,我們對於這樣的情景一定非常熟悉,過去的歷史已經為現在的媒體環境揭露端倪:網路與社群的力量是把雙面刃。

1998年事件爆發後十七年的時間,李文斯基不曾在公開場合現身,直到去年Forbes Under 30 Summit…

15 more words
Observation

YOU SHOULD GOOGLE EVERYONE, EVEN YOUR THERAPIST - BRIANNA SNYDER 04.25.15 7:00 AM

When I first met my shrink, I wasn’t so sure about him. He’s handsome, fit, not much taller than me, reticent. I couldn’t tell if his reticence was disapproval and judgment or if he was just doing his job: staying quiet, staying neutral. 190 more words

Consumer

Daniel Garber talks with director Alex Winter about his new documentary Deep Web at Hot Docs

https://danielgarber.files.wordpress.com/2015/04/garber-april24-15-interview.mp3

Hi, This is Daniel Garber at the Movies for culturalmining.com and CIUT 89.5 FM.

Most of us solve our online privacy worries by looking for an unbreakable password or a new encryption technique to protect our email and financial transactions. 191 more words

Cultural Mining