Tags » Earthquake

Commemorative Couch

George Williams House provided low-cost accommodation for single men, at the YMCA site in Hereford Street, for many decades.  When the earthquake struck on 22 February 2011 thirty-eight men were evacuated, never to return.  76 more words

Central Christchurch

Friday Fact - 27th January 2015

Friday 27th January 2015

20 seconds of shaking in the 2010 Haiti earthquake killed more people than all volcanic eruptions in history!

Earthquake

Magnitude 2.9 - 27km SSE of Shingletown, California (9:07 AM PST)

Event Time
2015-02-25 17:07:33 (UTC)
2015-02-25 09:07:33 (UTC-08:00) in your timezone

Nearby Cities
27km (17mi) SSE of Shingletown, California
41km (25mi) ENE of Red Bluff, California… 18 more words

Earthquake:

Magnitude 3.4 - 54km WNW of Humboldt Hill, California (3:28 PM PST)

Event Time
2015-02-24 23:28:01 (UTC)
2015-02-24 15:28:01 (UTC-08:00) in your timezone

Nearby Cities
54km (34mi) WNW of Humboldt Hill, California
55km (34mi) W of Eureka, California… 18 more words

Earthquake:

Monitoring earthquakes with radar satellites

From earthquakes and volcanoes to landslides and agriculture, radar satellites have revolutionised our ability to monitor the active processes changing the surface of the earth. 128 more words

Earthquake

Remembrance at the River

Today is the fourth anniversary of the most destructive of the Christchurch earthquakes, and I was part of a group which hosted a site for the River of Flowers commemoration at Tautahi Pa/The Bricks, just across the road from my home. 465 more words

Central Christchurch

4 Years On

Four years ago today Christchurch was struck by a 6.3 magnitude earthquake, killing 185 people and many others injured. Thousands of buildings around the city and surrounds were badly damaged but four years on things are definitely improving – although sometimes with the roadworks and traffic it doesn’t always feel like it. 61 more words

Photography