You can transfer ownership of a site or blog to another WordPress.com account by following the steps in this guide.
In this guide
Keep in mind that:
- You will be removed as the owner of the site. You will not be able to access the site unless allowed by the new owner.
- Your posts on the site will be transferred to the new owner and will no longer be authored by your account.
- Your WordPress.com plan and any other paid upgrades will be transferred to the new owner and will remain with the site.
- Any domains owned by you and registered to the site will be transferred to the new owner and will remain with the site.
Select your profile picture in the top right corner of your dashboard, then select Manage Blogs. Alternatively, you can open the My Blogs page here.
Hover your mouse over the site you would like to transfer and select the Transfer Blog link that appears. You will only see the option to transfer a site if you own it:
Carefully read the warning message that appears on the next screen. If you wish to continue with the transfer, check the boxes to confirm and proceed:
In the box that appears, enter the username or email address of the WordPress.com account you wish to transfer the site to, then select Transfer Blog. These instructions apply to both sites and blogs.
You will be sent a transfer confirmation email to the email address associated with your WordPress.com account. To proceed with the transfer, follow the link in the email. The site will be transferred to the new owner, along with any upgrades you purchased for this site.
The transfer will be completed once you follow the confirmation link in the email. You’ll be taken back to the My Blogs page with this confirmation message:
The new owner will also receive a confirmation email:
If your site has plugins or custom themes installed, you won’t have access to the settings shown in this guide. Instead, please transfer the domain(s) first and then contact us to move the site to the new owner for you.
Domain owners are required to provide current and valid contact information. After transferring the domain, please remind the new owner to update their domain contact information.