Media

Google Photos

You can integrate your Google photos directly into the WordPress.com editor by connecting your account to Google. Once connected you will be able to view your most recent Google photos and copy them directly to your WordPress.com media library ready for use in a post.

Table of Contents

Connect your Account to Google

This only needs to be done once.

  • While viewing your media (from the Media page, or while editing a post), select ‘Google Photos’ from the media dropdown
  • Click the Connect button
  • If you are logged in to your Google account you will be asked to confirm the connection. Otherwise you will need to login and then confirm. Note that you can disconnect your account at any time.
  • Once confirmed your account is now connected and your Google Photos media will appear.

Note: If you are a Google Workspace (formerly known as G Suite) user, you will need to have access to Google Photos enabled by your account administrator.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Browse Your Photos

You can browse your Google Photos library in one of two ways:

When using any block for images (such as the Image block), click Select Image and choose Google Photos from the options:

Image Block

In My Site → Media, click the dropdown in the top left corner of your Media library and select Google Photos:

Media Library

Your Google Photos library will then appear:

Scroll through the photos as you would your WordPress media library. Select the photo or photos you want to use in your post and click the ‘Copy to media library’ button. Your media will be copied into your WordPress library ready to be inserted into your post.

⚠️

All media is copied to your WordPress library and counts towards your space allowance.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Disconnect from Google

To disconnect your account from Google go to My Site → Tools Marketing → Connections and click the Disconnect button next to ‘Google Photos’:


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Multiple Users

Each user can be connected to one Google account. If you have multiple users on a site then they can each be connected to a different Google account and will not see each other’s photos.

If you want to swap the Google account you will need to disconnect one and connect another.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help