General

Empty Site

Sometimes you may have a site that you’ve worked on for a while, but you want to start over. If you are wondering how to delete content on your WordPress.com site and start fresh, you have two options.

Table of Contents

Watch a video that explains your different options for emptying your site, and scroll below for step-by-step instructions.

Option 1: Empty Your Site

If you want a fresh start on your WordPress.com site, you can delete all of your content from your site and still keep your current WordPress.com address (such as yourgroovysite.wordpress.com). Here’s how to delete each type of content:

Bulk Delete Pages, Posts, Categories and/or Tags

These instructions are referring to the WP Admin interface. To view this interface, click the Screen Options tab in the upper right corner and select Classic view.

You can bulk edit to modify multiple pages, posts, categories or tags at the same time. To do that, go to:

  • Pages → All pages to bulk delete pages
  • Posts → All posts to bulk delete posts
  • Posts → Categories to bulk delete categories
  • Posts → Tags to bulk delete tags


Select the items you wish to delete using the checkboxes on the left. To select all at once, click the box next to “Title.” Next, go to the Bulk Actions list, select Move to Trash then click Apply.

Delete Pages Individually

Go to Pages and click the ellipses (three dots) next to any page and look for the Trash option that appears. This will send the page to Trash, meaning it will no longer be visible on the site but can still be restored within 30 days if you change your mind.

Delete Posts Individually

Go to Posts and click the ellipses (three dots) next to any post and look for the Trash option that appears. This will send the post to Trash, meaning it will no longer be visible on the site but can still be restored within 30 days if you change your mind.


Delete Categories individually

You can manage your categories by going to Posts → Categories. Click the ellipses (three dots) next to a category and look for the Delete option that appears. The default category cannot be deleted.

Delete Tags Individually

You can manage your tags by going to Posts → Tags. Click the ellipses (three dots) next to a tag and look for the Delete option that appears.

Delete Media

To delete all of your Media files, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Media.
  2. Click on the first (most recent) image that appears in your Media.
  3. Hold down the Shift key on your keyboard, then use your mouse to click on the final image that appears in your Media. This will select every item in your Media.
  4. Click the Trash can icon to permanently delete the selected files.
Animated GIF showing how to delete Media items in bulk
Deleting Media items in bulk

Option 2: Create a New Site

Your other option is to create a brand new site with a new WordPress.com address under your existing WordPress.com account. There is no limit on how many sites you can have in your WordPress.com account.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help