Widget or iframe

• Author

farelthegiraffe
    Original poster

Hello, I just got a job, and already I’m being asked to do something big, namely convert an entire website into WordPress.

Sadly I’ve had very little experience with WordPress, but my coworkers had none, so I’m given this task.

Yes, yes, I know, I should go through tutorials, learn the ropes, but that could take months, while the client is waiting, so please… if anyone could, then help me out.

And now, here’s the problem:
    The original site uses PHP and Javascript. It uses 2 input tags to put in the info required, and there#s a third one in form of a button, which sends data to a Javascript file, which then, based on the values which were put in, prints out a series of links underneath.

I was told that I could probably use iframes or widgets to solve this problem, but Im unfamiliar with both of these, so I do need to know how to do this.

I’d really appreciate any input regarding this.

Thank you!

supernovia
    Staff

Hi @farelthegecko, actually our servers don’t support third party iframes or outside JavaScript. Are you planning on hosting it here or installing your own copy?

If you don’t mind sharing a public link to that site so we can see the form, I may be able to tell you whether we could do something similar on our servers.

genemonkey

I have a similar issue. I’m trying to install a widget from http://www.wikitree.com and it has been suggested I install this iframe plug in – https://wordpress.org/plugins/iframe/

I went to the plug in page but it says ‘Uploading your own plugins is not available on WordPress.com.’

What should I do to be able to embed the widget from Wikitree?

supernovia
    Staff

We aren’t able to use iframes or scripts here from outside sources. But what does the widget do? I may be able to help you do something similar.

genemonkey

I’m trying to embed these in a post – https://www.wikitree.com/treewidget/Coat-12/1000

farelthegiraffe
    Original poster