transferring website to wordress

• Author

trwssp

Hi

I am currently with moonfruit and they have completely lost all concept of customer service. Since they rely on flash this has had a negative affect as its unsecure software that my school do not want to run on their network. Moonfruit have not found a solution so looking at alternative providers. Is it possible to transfer the website to wordpress? Not sure what happens to the domain and other hidden fees. Complete novice so need all the help I can get please.

maksimurasov

Hi @trwssp,

Thank you for reaching out!

There are two things to talk about when discussing about website transferring:
    Domain transfer and website content transfer.

Domain transfer:
    There are available Domain Transfer or Mapping. If you could you let us know the current URL of your website, then we could point you to the right direction better. So far you can check prices for transferred domain names and check available plans of WordPress.com.

Website content transfer:
    Before we discuss that, please take a look into this article about the difference between WordPress.com and WordPress.org.
    As far as I know it is not possible just copy and paste the website from Moonfruit to WordPress because the formats are different. As I see here there must be a way to download the files from Moonfruit. Then you will have to create a new website on WordPress.com and manually upload content into it.

That said, we look forward to hearing from you!

trwssp

Thank you for your feedback

Such a dilemma, as I have essentially paid a renewal fee to moonfruit and not had access to the website for nearly half a year. So I’m exploring the idea of refund and migrating but by the looks of things its probably easier to start from scratch.

But transferring domain is obviously priority going by your advice

The URL is: http://www.threeriverswatfordssp.co.uk/

maksimurasov

Hi again,