Stats Jetpack vs Google Analytics

• Hi! I’ve been noticing something really odd with my stats since January 2021. Before that, the stats in Jetpack and Google Analytics were pretty much the same, but since January GA shows only half the number of page views/users compared to Jetpack. Looking at the numbers in the months before, I’d say that Jetpack is correct, which is twice as much as GA. However, clients prefer GA stats which is a real shame as those numbers are so much lower. Could you please advise me on what to do? I’m aware that there’s always a discrepancy between Jetpack and GA, but a difference of over 2,000 page views a month is a lot! Also, most forum discussions seem to suggest that GA usually display higher numbers, but for me it’s the other way round which is also odd. I hadn’t made any changes myself on my site or in GA. Would really want this to be fixed, thank you!

The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

• Hi there!

So yeah, all stats tracking systems collect and report information differently.

For example, Jetpack’s stats do not include visits from logged-in users by default. Many site owners find this useful, since tracking your own visits artificially inflates your traffic. That’s the most common explanation for the variance between your other stats system and Jetpack’s.

Jetpack also does not report visits in real-time. That is, there’s a bit of a lag between when visits occur, and when they are reported in your stats.

Additionally, there are certain search engine robots and “spiders” that Jetpack doesn’t count, and referrers that are considered spam referrers by Akismet (our spam-catching plugin) will not be reported in your stats. Other tracking systems may be less discerning in what they count toward the stat they report to you, and therefore give you different numbers than we do.