I need some help finding a theme to do this

• Author

timrabbit

I don’t know how to search for a theme for these particular attributes:

1. I want to have multiple categories
    2. I have a row of images which are my menu, that I want on top of each page, each image will link to a category page.
    3. I may put a traditional horizontal menu under the images, or I may add the words to the bottom of the images.
    4. On each category page one of the images might be brighter or something to indicate that is the chosen page.

When I try to look through themes I’m kind of overwhelmed and can’t figure how to filter for this. I’m new to WordPress but I’ve been a mainframe technical support person for years, including building simple web pages to run on my mainframe. Comfortable with some HTML and pretty good at reading and understanding documentation to learn new things. I’m just having a time getting over this one hurdle. If someone can point me to a theme, or to where to get help for this, I’d appreciate it.

The blog I need help with is rabbitsdendotcom.wordpress.com.

kokkieh
    Staff

Hi there,

1. I want to have multiple categories

This is not dependent on the theme. Categories are a feature of the WordPress software, and you can add multiple categories to any WordPress site, regardless of the theme you’re using.

A theme only controls the appearance of a site, not how the site works.

2. I have a row of images which are my menu, that I want on top of each page, each image will link to a category page.

No theme on WordPress.com does this. In fact, I don’t know of any WordPress theme at all that uses pictures for the site menu. To have your site menu display as images, you’d need to use CSS code (requires our Premium Plan), or a plugin (requires our Business Plan), to replace the text labels for menu items with images.