Database in WordPress, what template?

• Author

billigks

Hi there!

I’m a total newbie when it comes to making websites. I started out today and I see there’s a lot to learn!

I know how I want it to look and so forth, but I’m having a hard time finding the right template.
    The website is supposed to be very simple but sleek.

I want a mainpage which just consists of info about the page, which will be static. Then I want another page for info/contact.
    Then I want a page where I want a load of links to other pages on my website, but I don’t want those linked pages to show up anywhere on the website.

You could say it’s kinda like a database for every gym in the US, and I want to sort the gyms into each state/city.
    So I’m thinking like the third page will be called “Gyms” and then from there, you can click on a link (forexample Utah) and that brings you to another page where every single gym in Utah is listed, in order.

But what I don’t want, is for that last page to be shown on my website next to “info”, “home” or “gyms”.

Hope anyone can help with this :)

jasondayne

Hi!

Congratulations on getting started with WordPress! It might be a little overwhelming at first (like anything new) but you’ll be a pro in no time! Here are some suggestions for accomplishing the goals you outlined:

1. To create extra pages with links, contact info, whatever you’d like, go to your dashboard and select the “Pages” option from the menu on the left. There, you can add pages galore!

2. Creating pages that don’t show up on your navigation menu won’t be a problem! Just go under “Appearance” —> “Menus” from your dashboard and you can customize what pages you have show up on the different menus on your site.