Blog or website – tips needed

• Hi,

last year I created a blog and played around with different themes to get a feeling for wp. Some stuff is still a bit confusing like projects/portfolio, but I got a understanding how wordpress works.
    I’m a part time photographer with a wide field of work themes. I do weddings & events but also object photography. I also want to blog about my travels, gear and other hobbys a bit.

I can’t decide if I want a website and add a blog page or create a blog with a menu where I can also put older pictures in there.

A) If I do a blog, is it possible to add pictures just to the menu without showing up on the main blog site? Is this what projects are for?

B) I never tried a website with a blog page so I’m still unsure about possible advantages here? I understand that I can create a static landing page. But if I add a blog page in the menu, would there be anything different from option A), except for the landing page?

Thanks

• Hi @arcanion, can you send a link to your site so we can see what theme you’ve chosen? That will affect our recommendations.

And, I wasn’t sure what you meant about pictures in the menu. Can you clarify that?

And, just as one example of what’s possible, here’s a theme that shows the latest portfolio projects on the front page along with a slider for featured items, and has a separate blog page:
    https://sketchdemo.wordpress.com/

There are many ways to go about this :)

• Hi thanks for your answer. That was helpful to clarify what portfolios are for!
    So my site will probably change a lot next few days, because I will try some different portfolio themes. simonrau.wordpress.com (not an english site, mind)